The University of Southampton

ECS celebrates student prizewinners

Published: 22 October 2011

Prizewinners for academic performance in Parts 1, 2, and 3, of degree programmes in ECS-Electronics and Computer Science attended a lunch in the Mountbatten Building to receive their prizes.

New prizes awarded this year were the Winton Capital Management Prize awarded to Liam De Valmency, for best performance in Part 1 Computer Science, and the Barclays Capital Prize, awarded to Doug Moore, for best performance in Part 1 Information Technology in Organisations.

The full list of prizewinners was:

Part I Electronic Engineering EE Zepler Prize: Aditya Tandon GD Sims Prize: Toan Nguyen Quoc

Part II Electronic Engineering EE Zepler Prize: James Imber GD Sims Prize: Matthew Brejza Eddy Herman Memorial Prize: Matthew Brejza

Part I Computer Science and Software Engineering Winton Capital Management Prize: Liam De Valmency

Part II Computer Science and Software Engineering Detica Prize: Robert Streeting Adam Rutherford Memorial Prize: Darie Patulescu IBM group software engineering project Prizes: Dexter Lowe, Emem Adegbola, Christopher Kirkham, Antonio Bernardo Best individual contributions: Andrei Petre, Nicholas Hatter

Part I Electrical and Electromechanical Engineering EE Zepler Prize: Wei Chin

Part II Electrical and Electromechanical Engineering The National Grid Company Prize: Xinnan Wang

Part I Information Technology in Organisations Barclays Capital Prize: Douglas Moore

Part II Information Technology in Organisations Zepler Prize: Manol Dimitrov

Part III Electronics and Digital Systems Engineering Zepler Prize: Yannik Hopke GD Sims Prize: Adam Malpass John Betts Communications Prize: Yannik Hopke

Part III Computer Science and Software Engineering NDS Prize: Stephen Tuttlebee Netcraft Prizes Stephen Tuttlebee Alexander Davenport Raymond Mo Jonathan Harrison Elliot Salisbury Joshua England Sam Lewis Ali Al Marhubi David Monks Andrew Baker

Part III Project Prizes

Hursley Computer Prize: Sukhjinder Plaha David Barron Prize: Peter Wesson NATS Project Prize: Neil Howarth Zepler Project prizes: Yannik Hopke, Raymond Mo, Elliot Salisbury Siemens Prizes: Neil Howarth, Peter Wesson, Yannik Hopke

Winners of the UKESF (UK Electronics Skills Foundation) Scholarships also attended the lunch and received a small gift from ECS for their achievement: James Imber; Matt Lokes; Fergus Macgarry; Adam Malpass; Samuel Hipkin; Yannik Hopke; Matthew Warnes; and Thomas Dell.

Special mention should also be made of Neil Howarth, who was the only Southampton student to reach the final of the European SET Awards this year for his project: ‘Telemetry for electric vehicles’, supervised by Dr Peter Wilson of the Electronics and Electrical Engineering group in ECS.

For further information contact Joyce Lewis; tel.+44(0)23 8059 5453.

Articles that may also interest you

Share this article FacebookGoogle+TwitterWeibo

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.