The University of Southampton

Southampton cyber security leader honoured by European Academy of Sciences and Arts

Published: 3 June 2021
Professor Shiyan Hu is Director of Southampton Cyber Security Academy.

Professor Shiyan Hu has been elected as a member of the prestigious European Academy of Sciences and Arts for significant contributions to the design, optimisation and security of cyber-physical systems.

The University of Southampton professor is an international leader in his field and Director of the School of Electronics and Computer Science's Cyber Security Academy.

The European Academy of Sciences and Arts has around 2,000 members, including 34 Nobel Prize Laureates, dedicated to innovative research, international collaboration as well as the exchange and dissemination of knowledge. The organisation is committed to promoting scientific and societal progress, with its members elected based on their outstanding achievements.

Professor Hu, Chair in Cyber-Physical System Security, says: "I am delighted to be elected as a member of European Academy of Sciences and Arts. It is a unique honour in recognition of my research accomplishments and international leadership in my research fields. I will leverage this international reputation to keep promoting the national and global collaborative activities at Southampton and our Cyber Security Academy."

The Cyber Security Academy was one of the first investments from the Government's CyberInvest scheme and fosters partnerships between government agencies, academia and industrial leaders to deliver research, innovation, education, training and outreach.

Professor Hu's academic leadership is recognised as a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and Fellow of the British Computer Society.

He has published more than 150 refereed papers in the area of Cyber-Physical Systems, Cyber-Physical System Security, and VLSI Computer Aided Design, where most of his journal articles appeared in the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)/ Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Transactions. He is an ACM Distinguished Speaker, an IEEE Systems Council Distinguished Lecturer, a recipient of the 2017 IEEE Computer Society TCSC Middle Career Researcher Award, and a recipient of the 2014 US National Science Foundation CAREER Award.

His publications have received distinctions such as the 2018 IEEE Systems Journal Best Paper Award, the 2017 Keynote Paper in IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design, the Front Cover Paper in IEEE Transactions on Nanobioscience in March 2014, and multiple Thomson Reuters ESI Highly Cited Papers/Hot Papers. His ultra-fast slew buffering technique has been widely deployed in industry for designing over 50 microprocessor and ASIC chips such as IBM flagship chips POWER 7 and 8.

Professor Hu is Chair of the IEEE Technical Committee on Cyber-Physical Systems and Editor-In-Chief of IET Cyber-Physical Systems: Theory & Applications. He has served as an Associate Editor for five IEEE/ACM Transactions such as IEEE TCAD, IEEE TII and ACM TCPS and as a Guest Editor for various IEEE/ACM journals such as Proceedings of the IEEE and IEEE Transactions on Computers.

In 2020, the University of Southampton became one of the first organisations in the country to be recognised as an Academic Centre of Excellence in Cyber Security Education. By receiving a Gold Award for Education by the National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC, which is part of GCHQ) Southampton became one of a handful of universities to gain recognition as a Centre of Excellence for both Cyber Security Education and Research, which it first obtained in 2012.

Articles that may also interest you

Share this article FacebookTwitterWeibo