The University of Southampton

Professor Harvey Rutt awarded OSA Fellowship

Published: 22 December 2005

Professor Harvey Rutt, Deputy Director of the School of Electronics and Computer Science, has been awarded a Fellowship by the Optical Society of America (OSA). The OSA is the premier international learned society for scientists working in optics and photonics, and is behind the top academic journals and conferences in this field.

Professor Rutt, who is also Deputy Director of the University’s Optoelectronics Research Centre, and an Electronics graduate of the University of Southampton, received his Fellowship ‘for pioneering contributions to infrared science and technology including the discovery and development of new optically pumped molecular gas lasers.'

OSA Fellowships 2006 have also been awarded to Professors Anne Tropper and Jeremy Baumberg from the School of Physics and Astronomy, and Professor Andy Clarkson from the Optoelectronics Research Centre.

'These awards recognise the outstanding achievements of these four new Fellows in their diverse areas in optical research and their potential for future discovery,' commented Professor Joe Hammond, Dean of the University's Faculty of Engineering, Science and Mathematics. 'The fact that these awards cover three University schools demonstrates the collaborative and multidisciplinary approach needed when moving forward in photonics.'

Articles that may also interest you

Share this article FacebookGoogle+TwitterWeibo

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.